Executive Committee

FOMA is lead by an Executive of highly respected people. Our strength lies in their depth of experience, wealth of knowledge and desire for our people to succeed.

Our Executive Committee comprises representatives from 11 regions from the Far North
to Stewart Island. The Executive meets quarterly to discuss the business of the organisation and to support our Chief Executive and team.

Traci Houpapa, MNZM JP – Chairman – Tainui

executive-committee-traci-houpapaTraci specialises in strategic and economic development, advising Māori, Iwi, public and private sector clients throughout New Zealand. She is an experienced company director, a recognised industry leader and holds a number of directorships and Ministerial appointments in Māori Development and the Primary Sector.

Email: traci@thcg.co.nz

Hemi Wheeler – Deputy Chair – Te Tau Ihu o te Waka a Maui

executive committee Hemi WheelerJames (Hemi)  has been on the Board of Wakatū Incorporation since 1996 where he was elected Deputy Chairman in 2010. Currently on the Kono Board, Chairman of the Human Resources Committee and Wakatū representative on Tainui Taranaki ki te Tonga – Treaty of Waitangi claims company. Previously employed with Tohu Wines, James contributed to the recognition and growth of Tohu. James lives in Lower Hutt and is a Justice of the Peace.

Email: james@wheelermail.co.nz

Dr Riri Ellis – Mataatua

executive committee Dr Riri EllisDr. Ellis has a background in management, marketing and Māori resource management. She is also passionate about contributing to hapū and iwi development in a range of areas, particularly economic development and business development, language strategising and planning, Treaty of Waitangi claims, marae development, governance and leadership.

E: riri.ellis@xtra.co.nz

 Pita Tipene – Taitokerau

executive committee Pita TipenePita is of Ngāti Hine and Ngāpuhi and has an educational background having taught in Taitokerau Secondary schools and worked in a number of regional and national administrative roles in the education sector. His is the current chairman of the Ngāti Hine Forestry Trust and has a number of other governance roles amongst his people including Deputy Chair of Te Runanga o Ngāti Hine.

Email: pita@nhht.co.nz

 Maria Pera – Te Waipounamu

executive committee Maria PeraMaria is the Awarua Rūnanga representative to Te Rūnanga O Ngāi Tahu. Maria has served as a ministerial appointed member to several boards including the Parole Board, District Health Boards, and local Prison committees. Currently Maria Chairs the Treaty Tribes Coalition, and Kāitahu Tai Whenua Ltd, she is also a member of Te Aparangi (TRONT) committee – external issues, and a director on Ngāi Tahu Seafood Board.

E: mariainbluff@hotmail.com

Jim Edmonds – Aotea

executive committee Jim EdmondsJim is on the board of the Morikaunui Inc. and Atihau Whanganui Inc. As a descendant from Aotea, Mataatua, Takitimu, Tainui and Kurahaupō waka, Jim takes an active interest in these histories and traditions. He has extensive farming experience and is actively interested in the convergence of business principles and Māoritanga.

E: jim.edmonds@xtra.co.nz

 Te Taru White – Te Arawa

Te_Taru_WhiteTe Taru is a highly qualified senior executive with over 30 years experience in a wide range of professions.These range from scientific research to change management, human resource management, community development across all socio-economic spectrums, and leadership for the past 11 years of the National Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa Tongarewa, and the New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute, Te Puia

E: taru@tetaruwhite.co.nz

Liz Mellish – Te Upoko o te Ika

Liz MellishLiz is a consultant and experienced governor, she is the Chair of Palmerston North Māori Reserve Trust and on the boards of Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust, the Lion Foundation and Matiu Island Charitable Trust, together with the Wellington District Health Board.
E: liz@ngahuru.maori.nz

Tom Walters – Tūwharetoa




Hayden Swann – Te Tairāwhiti

 PhotoHayden is the Principal of Makaraka School in Gisborne and is of Ngati Porou, Te Aitanga a Mahaki, Rongowhakaata and Ngai Tai descent. Hayden is passionate about education and enabling our ragatahi to grow and be successful leaders for our future. He believes this will build our governance and management capacity amongst our businesses ensuring succession and membership growth.
Hayden’s role’s in Governance and Management include Chairing the Mangaotane Farm Trust. Pine and Native Forest in Mangatu, Gisborne and is a committee member of Pakarae A and Other Blocks, Whangara Farms Partnership.  Hayden holds a Bachelor of Education, Post Graduate Certificate in Applied Practice, Post Graduate Diploma in Administration and Leadership.
 Marei Apatu – Takitimu

executive committee Marei ApatuMarei has experience in a number of governance, executive, project and performance management roles. He is a Kaihautu with Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga, a district wide, community kaupapa service employing around 200 staff. His role is to facilitate interface between Central and Local Government Agencies along with marae, hapū
and Māori land trusts on a range of matters including RMA, environmental and development planning.

He is involved actively with FOMA Members Owhaoko C Lands Trust and Kahungunu Asset Holding Company together with Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Inc.

In addition to holding a Masters in Māori and Management, he has interests in communications, quality and risk management, strategic and environmental planning.

E: Marei.Apatu@ttoh.iwi.nz

Our Executive Committee represents over 50 Māori Authorities with assets in excess of $2billion